Generally, when an accident occurs due to a collision between two vehicles, the at-fault party is liable to compensate the other party for their damages and injuries.
But in a no-contact accident, it can be difficult to determine who is at fault. A no-contact accident is one where a vehicle collides with an object, but there is no contact between the two vehicles. There are many possible causes of no-contact accidents. For example, a motorcycle rider may swerve to avoid a pothole and lose control of their bike. Or, a car might hit a patch of ice and slide into oncoming traffic.
To determine liability in a no-contact motorcycle accident, insurance companies will usually look at the circumstances leading up to the accident. For example, if the motorcycle rider was speeding or weaving in and out of traffic, the insurance company may deem them at fault. Or, if the car hit a patch of ice that had not been properly cleared, the company may find the property owner liable.
It is important to note that insurance companies will often try to assign blame to both parties in a no-contact accident in order to avoid paying out a claim. This is why it is important to have an experienced attorney on your side who can help you build a strong case and get the compensation you deserve.
If you have been a victim of a non-contact motorcycle accident, then you must consult an injury lawyer. Visit a Website to find more information about motorcycle accidents.
Essential Laws for Motorcycle Riders
There are several essential laws in Texas to ensure a rider’s safety and avoid injuries and fatalities in motorcycle accidents. The government has mandated these laws to help protect motorcycle riders from other negligent drivers on the road.
The following are some of the most important motorcycle laws in Texas:
- Helmet Law: Any person under the age of 21 who operates a motorcycle in Texas is required by law to wear a helmet. This includes both drivers and passengers under the age of 21. Any person over the age of 21 is also required to wear a helmet unless they meet an eligible helmet exemption.
- Passenger Law: In Texas, it is prohibited to have a passenger under the age of 5 years old unless they are seated in a sidecar that is attached to the motorcycle.
- Driving license: In order to drive a motorcycle in Texas, riders must have a valid Class M driver’s license. To get a Class M license, riders must first obtain a learner permit by passing a vision test and a written knowledge test. After holding the permit for at least 6 months, riders can then take the motorcycle skills test to get their full license.
- Registration: All motorcycles must be registered with the Texas Department of Transportation (TXDOT). The process to register a motorcycle is similar to registering a car. Riders must fill out an application, submit the required fees, and provide proof of insurance.
It is not required by law in Texas for motorcycle riders to wear eyewear, but it is highly recommended. Wearing sunglasses or clear goggles can help protect a rider’s eyes from the wind, sun, insects, and debris.
Similarly, protective clothes and gear are not required by law, but they can help prevent injuries in the event of an accident. Wearing sturdy shoes, long pants, and a jacket can help protect a rider’s skin from being scraped if they fall off their bike.
In recent years, there has been an increase in the number of motorcycle accidents in Texas. In fact, according to the Texas Department of transportation’s crash report data analysis, the fatality rate in motorcycle accident cases was much higher in 2020 than in previous years.
If you or a loved one has been involved in a motorcycle accident, it is important to consult with an experienced personal injury lawyer. An attorney will have the knowledge and resources to help you build a strong case and get the best possible outcome.